2 Weeks

I’ve been house and horse sitting for about 2 weeks now.  Technically 16 days of house, 5 of those were also horse sitting.  Coincidentally there were 5 horses!  My only internet access has been my phone.  I thought about attempting to post from my phone but that just seemed, well, I don’t know.  I don’t want to say too much work because I enjoy writing and posting.  I think it’s the formatting or lack there of on the phone.  When I write I tend to read and reread before posting.  I like to add links.  I like to see the whole thing or at least close to the whole thing on the screen at one time.  On a phone that would be impossible.  Plus I know I would end up with some idiot typos.  So here I am back in my own home and writing.  Last night was my first night home.  Sleeping in my own bed was, in a word, blissful.

During the past 2 weeks I’ve spent over 20 hours helping a dear friend prepare for her garage sale and move.  Once again I’m reminded that I’m much happier working on/for someone else rather than myself.  Why can’t I commit that kind of dedication to myself?

The other day I spent 2 hours weeding at my CSA.  (Side note my CSA is threatened by proposed changes to the Urban Growth Boundary.  I don’t know about you but I love being able to drive into farm land.  I’m getting involved, maybe you want to also.)  When I left I was dirty, sweaty and incredibly happy.  I think I could really enjoy working on a farm.  I got to be outside, I got to be around animals and plants and I got to be super detail oriented.  My row of onions was gorgeous when I got through with it.  I have faith I would get faster with practice.  I did realize the down side of putting the weeds in the walkway.  The next time you go back to weed you end up sitting on the dried thistles.  Yes I sit while weeding.  My knees would let me crouch for 2 hours and my back won’t let me bend over.  So I sit.  My brother told me I could get a little seat that would attach to me.  Thus it would move with me.  I’m never sure if he’s being serious.  I love him but he did tell me Tabasco sauce tasted like Coke to get me to taste it.  Of course that was probably 30 years ago.  I really can’t let that one go.  Usually it makes everyone smile so I’m keeping it.

No I haven’t gotten my Etsy store up and running BUT I have sold some of my Pacific Low Tide jewelry in a cute little shop called Tangible Gifts on SE Clinton.  My knits got some interest but it’s not the right season for cozy knits so we pulled them from the shelves.  (If you’re in the area, clearing throat, feel free to stop in and check them out.  Wink wink.  No seriously it’s a great little shop and everything they carry is locally made!)

In less than a month I’ll be driving back to Colorado.  I went out a year ago with my parents but this time it’s just me and I’m driving.  I’ve never done an east west drive.  I’ve done Colorado – New Mexico and Oregon – California but never east west.  I’m excited for the journey and scared to see the devastation left by the fires.  I’m hoping my home town will use the opportunity to rebuild into the town I wish it was.  One can hope.

I’ve read and reread and reread this.  On some level it’s all over the place and yet it’s very clearly telling me I need to get back in the habit of writing.  Regular writing helps me to keep the crazies to a minimum.  Looking at the clock tells me I need to get my sleep cycle  back on track.  Projects for nina!

This entry was posted in Re-discovering Nina and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2 Weeks

  1. Julie says:

    Love to read your writing Nina. Makes me feel connected to you. And a reminder that I have been missin it. By the way, I will be home in cos also, from aug. 4-11. Any chance you are there too? Miss you.

    • Nina says:

      I’ll be in Vail 18-25. (My parents are letting me use one of their time shares ) I’m driving out this year but I don’t think I can swing the 11th. I would love to see you. Miss you too!

  2. Heather says:

    I love the train-of-though writing. It works. It’s so natural. I’d love to hear more about your CSA. I’ve been looking for one to join but haven’t made the plunge yet…so many options! We’ll talk 🙂

Leave a Reply

