Stuck in traffic – Pros and Cons

Driving down the highway today I was frustrated.

I was on my way to see my sweet Laddie.

BUT

I was in bumper to bumper traffic.

I was the only person in my subie which can hold 5.

BUT

I was able to listen to more NPR than I have in a few weeks.

I lived in this oddly balanced place for nearly an hour despite the trip only being 23.2 miles which in good traffic should take 32 minutes (according to the google map).

I found that the pros won out.  I found myself being let in when I needed to merge.  Letting others in when they needed to.  Spying a circling hawk.  Intrigued by the mismatched lawn chairs and table sitting looking at the highway.  Wondering who was in the dog cage I could see in the back of the 4runner in front of me.  Saying hi when it’s head popped up.  Because of the window or the sunlight it’s head was in shadow so I still don’t know who it was but I hoped it was a dog I would like.  I wondered about dog seat belts.  I’ve never used them for any of my dogs but then I grew up not having to wear a person seatbelt so…  Only for a little while.  I’m not sure if it’s my memory or my brother’s but I “remember” sliding off the back seat and onto the floor at sudden stops.

The traffic congestion cleared and I kept my happy head space.  I pulled up to the gate.  Park, brake, door, walk walk walk, gate, walk walk walk, door, brake, drive.  Repeat.  Driving slowly looking for the boy.  I saw him before he looked up.  My heart swelled, I’ve miss him.  I parked and took my stuff inside.  By the time I opened the door to head back out to find him he was at my car.  I feed him a carrot and we catch up on the way to the barn.

No wonder the pros won out on the drive here.  I knew where I was going and what I had to look forward to for the next few days.  He may be 10 years my junior and poop all over but I love my sweet horse sitting boss.

This entry was posted in Re-discovering Nina and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

