Thoughts on a plane

Not long ago my family and I went to Hawaii.  Two years ago we went so when the chance came around again we all jumped at it.  (On it? At it? Whatever, you know what I mean.)

So, there I am sitting on our Alaska Airlines plane flying to Hawaii.  Same old same old, mostly.  The safety procedure tri-fold had pictures of lots of little people.  Adults, little kids, seniors, men, women and flight attendants.  They all had the same shoes.  Except one guy who had little Nike’s.  I kid you not.  There he was sitting in his seat preparing for the plane crash, and on his feet tiny Nike swoosh.  Weird.

The the flight attendants brought around the drinks and snacks.  We all received an “Island” snack mix which included pineapple and macadamia nuts.  Okay, I can appreciate this.  We’re heading to Hawaii, why not have a “Hawaiian” treat?  BUT it was brought to us by a company based in… Solon Ohio.  What?  Are you telling me the pineapple and macadamia nuts are possibly grown in Hawaii, picked, packed and shipped to Ohio?  So that they can be put together for a little airplane snack and sent back to Hawaii?  That’s over 9000 miles round trip.  I know it’s entirely possible the pineapples and macadamia nuts are grown elsewhere but it still seems silly to me.  I mean, if you’re going to the land of pineapples and macadamia nuts and having them as a snack.  Why not get them from said land?  Just my 2 cents.

This entry was posted in Re-discovering Nina and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

